SLJ : R.E.S.P.E.C.T Summer learning journey Kickstart

Hi Bloggers!
I have done another Summer learning journey activity. This activity is about Respect. Respect is a big thing to have, It is important you respect everyone and everything. This activity has Kick start and step it up.  For the Kick start activity you watch the 2 videos linked to the slide then read the text linked to the slide.  Then we start the activity

New activity  means new challenge has begun!
The activity is to make a copy of the Google drawings and you will see a Kiekie made out of shape, For this you can colour it and thicken the lines and borders or you can use it as a idea and start from scratch. I decided to use the shapes and to colour them. I tried my best to make the Kiekie look nice. Wait you’re wondering what Kiekie is? Well I’m glad you asked , Kiekie is a Tongan piece of clothing, The reason Tongans wear a Kiekie is to signify the beauty of the Tongan culture . I think the wearing of the Kiekie connects to the word respect because Tongan people wear the Kiekie as their culture and they are proud of it. That shows real respect for their culture. I think it is super important to have respect for your culture and other cultures.

What I thought about the task.

This task was quite easy to do, but it took me some time. This activity is a cool way to show respect to others. My favourite part of this activity was colouring it. It looked so beautiful! And also reading the text about Mele making Kiekie’s, They looked absolutely gorgeous.
Now that you know about my task…
Here is my Kiekie

I hope you like it!
REFLECTION : I think I did well, I liked how I did the colours and set it out. Maybe next time I might make the bottom line not cut off.. But overall I enjoyed doing this task and I loved learning about the Kiekie

Thanks for reading this blog post!
I enjoyed doing this task!
See you in my next SLJ blog post!

4 thoughts on “SLJ : R.E.S.P.E.C.T Summer learning journey Kickstart

  1. Kia ora Jolin,

    It’s Charlotte again, a Summer Learning Journey Blog Commenter. I have enjoyed reading through your blog posts over the last few days, keep up the great blogging!

    Your Kiekie looks like it took a long time to make – I can tell that a lot of effort has gone into this, ka pai.
    I am interested to find out what your inspiration was behind the design of your kiekie?

    I agree, what an awesome way to show respect. I often find it interesting to think of all the different ways we can show respect to others. Often when people think of showing respect, they just think of doing good deeds but respect is so much more than that. What are some ways you show respect?

    I think this post is awesome, because of this I have marked it as an outstanding post. This means that you will be getting extra points for this post!

    Ngā Mihi Nui
    Charlotte Visser
    Summer Learning Journey

    1. Kia Ora Charlotte!
      Thank you again for this comment, It means a lot to me , I am thrilled that you have enjoyed reading my blog posts. The Kiekie truly did take some time, I tried my best to make it look good. My inspiration behind the Kiekie was a photo on Google, It had 3 girls with Kiekies on, I really liked how the Kiekie that looks like my Kiekie looked. The Kiekie was so pretty and it stood out, So I tried my best to work out how I would be able to turn this image into Google drawings! Yes truly respect isn’t just doing good deeds.

      Some ways I show respect is understanding people’s boundaries, So many people push people out of their boundaries which is so frustrating .
      Thank you for checking out this blog post, it means so much to me!
      Have a fantastic summer

      – Jolin

      1. Kia ora Jolin,

        That is a great way to show respect – well done. Showing respect is very important.
        It is great to hear that you were spending time looking into Kiekie, what did you find most interesting about the Kiekie?

        Ngā Mihi Nui
        Charlotte Visser
        Summer Learning Journey

        1. Kia ora Charlotte,
          Yes I did spend time looking into Kiekie, I found most interesting about Kiekie was how they make them and what they use to make them. They look so pretty, Showing respect is very important. Thank you for your effort,
          Have an amazing summer
          -Jolin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *