SLJ : Bug of the year Step it up

Hi bloggers,
Hope you have been having an amazing summer. I have completed another SLJ activity. This is the step up activity for Bug of the year. The task for this is to make a google drawing which includes facts, and more such as description, habitat, diet,distribution, Size range and life cycle about any bug of your choice, I decided to choose a Monarch butterfly, I chose a monarch butterfly because I thought it would be so cool to research about. But I had trouble choosing which one and when I heard monarch butterflies are commonly seen in New Zealand in the part where I live . So that’s why I chose this bug to be what I make a bug profile about.

There was a template we could use but I found that I wanted to make my own. I changed it up a bit  but I made sure to use the same information such as to add the facts listed that we must add.  I love how it looks so you can tell me your thoughts.

Here it is!

I like how it turned out, do you? They look so pretty but whenever I am around one I seem a bit nervous. I think I will stick to looking at pictures online…

REFLECTION – The bug profile turned out good, I like my vines idea and also how I laid it all out. Glad I stuck to 3 pictures instead of adding more as 3+ would be to hectic and full on the screen I guess. And there would be no room for facts! What is a bug profile without facts and information…!!! I liked the facts and information I put on it .
What is your favourite bug or insect? If you have one, why do you find it your favourite?

Thanks for checking out this blog post,
Have the best summer and see you in my next one.
Byee!!

4 thoughts on “SLJ : Bug of the year Step it up

  1. Bula Jolin,

    I was blown away by your blog post. It was all outstanding, from the detailed descriptions where you used beautiful adjectives such as big, beautiful, orange wings to the attractive design and layout of the blog. My only offer of advice would be to make your subtitles stayour subtitles, for example habitat or diet so that people can quickly scan for information.

    Another thing I really like about your blog posts is how you always include a reflection. It is so important to be reflecting on our work and this reflection can help others with their work too.

    In answer to your fabulous questions, my favourite bug/insect is a honey bee. I love honey bees. Firstly, they are essential to our environment and our life really. Without them we wouldn’t have food. They are also very interesting in their own right. The way they run the hive, the different jobs they have. For example the female bees are worker bees but some have different jobs like the nurse bees who basically run through the hive making sure bees are healthy and if they are not, they toss them to the bottom of the hive so they can’t infect the rest of the hive. You’ve also got the bees that care for the queen and bees that clean and 100 other different jobs. It’s fascinating to watch.

    Is the monarch butterfly your favourite insect or do you have another one?
    What is your least favourite insect/bug?

    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Kia ora Anna,
      I am thrilled you enjoyed this blog post, I tried my best to make this blog post to the best of my ability. Thank you for the advice, it helps me so much to improve my work. Honey bees are great insects/bugs, They are so helpful to the world. In answer to your question, The monarch butterfly is my favourite, They are so graceful it is just so cool to look at. My least favourite insect/ bug is 100% ants! They always seem to itch me and get near my food.
      Have an amazing summer
      Jolin

  2. Kia ora Jolin,

    It’s Annabel here from Koputaroa school.
    I love your Monarch butterfly bug profile! I can see you have put a lot of time and effort in this task! Has this been your favourite task so far, if not what has been your favourite task? I really like the leaf decorations up the top I think it adds to the look of your profile, it makes me think of nature! I love all the description about your blog post up the top! If I was going to say something to work on I would say maybe to add something like what you found tricky about this task or what your favourite part was!

    My favourite insect is ladybug. They are my favourite insect because they are a symbol of good luck! I think they are very pretty bugs and are very interesting. My favourite thing about them is the spots on their back and that they have very tiny legs. To answer your other question I think your bug profile turned out great!
    Thank you for a great blog post!

    Nga Mihi Annabel

    1. Kia ora Annabel,
      Thank you for checking out this blog post. I am glad you like my profile. My favourite task so far is the colour block landscape. What is yours? Thank you for your suggestion. I will add the trickiest parts and my favourite parts in the future. The ladybug is a very nice insect. They truly are very pretty. Have an amazing day
      Thank you for the comment!
      Nga Mihi
      Jolin WPS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *